Call for Nominations: AGNES Grant for Junior Researchers - 29 September 2017

We are pleased to announce that the Call for Nominations for the “AGNES Grant for Junior Researchers” in 2017 is now open. AGNES is offering a total of 10 grants to recent doctoral graduates (sub-Saharan African nationals); these grants are funded through a joint initiative of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation (AvH) and The German Federal Ministry for Education and Research (BMBF). Nominations closes at 23h00 South African time on 29 September 2017.

The AGNES Grant for Junior Researchers aims to strengthen the scientific capacity in Africa through active co-operation of AGNES members. It further supports the alumni of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation in their efforts towards coaching and mentoring high potential junior researchers, helping them to access international networks of scientific excellence (e.g. AvH and BMBF).


Eligibility and Nomination

Consideration of recipients for the AGNES Grant for Junior researchers is only by nomination of candidates, and not through direct application. AGNES Founder Members and The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) may nominate up to 3 excellent candidates who graduated with the PhD from 2015 onwards. Excellent candidates who will graduate before the end of 2017 may also be nominated. The nominator should consider only those candidates who have an outstanding academic record with, at least, one publication in an international journal. The nominee must be interested to carry out a post-doctoral scientific research project in Germany under the auspices of the fellowship programmes of the AvH.


NB: It is the wish of the Humboldt Foundation and of AGNES to attract excellent candidates from all sub-Saharan countries. Nominators are therefore requested if possible to contact colleagues from those countries which are least represented to request their support in detecting brilliant candidates. In this case they may nominate more candidates than authorized. Here is a (not exhaustive) list of least represented countries in Africa: 

  • West Africa: Burkina Faso, Côte d'Ivoire, Ghana, Guinea, Liberia, Mali, Senegal, and Seirra Leone.
  • Central Africa: Angola, Central Africa Republic, Chad, Congo Brazzaville, Congo Kinshasa, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Rwanda, and Zambia.
  • Southern Africa: Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, and Zimbabwe.
  • East Africa: Malawi, Tanzania, and Uganda.


All nominations files must be sent via email to AGNES Desk in Cape Town: and


Follow us on Twitter:

                                                                Visit our website: